top of page
Search

Anniversary Night Away to Coventry

Updated: Sep 30, 2020

I sometimes mention products that I have been asked to review or promote. I will never positively review a product if I had a negative experience with it. These may have been sent to me for free by a company. If I state I have a "Brand Rep" code this means I work with this business mentioned; I promote the products that I have purchased from them with a discount code provided to me for doing do. If I have an "affiliate" or "ambassador" code, this will mean that I will earn a commission from that company if you use that code. Again, I will NEVER promote or recommend a product that I did not personally have a good experience with.


It was our two year anniversary in August and even through all of the chaos with the COVID-19 pandemic, we found a lovely (cheap!) hotel in Coventry where we could get away for one night, and not have any responsibilities (kids, pets), housework (EVERYTHING) or cooking!


Although it was all very different venturing around with our masks on (at the time, Wales were not mandating masks) and trying to get into a restaurant to have a nice meal, we managed to have such a good time.


We checked in to the Royal Court Hotel in Coventry with plenty of time for a socially distanced swim in their HUGE swimming pool and a nice relaxing shower in the room before we headed out to what has to be the UK's best Tapas restaurant, Selmina's.



Unfortunately at Selimina's, I forgot to ask for my drink with no straw! So had a little eco guilt when this beautiful cocktail arrived adorned with two plastic straws. Nevertheless, these things happen and we enjoyed our night, eating more than two humans probably should and getting back to the hotel somewhere near midnight.


The following day, we decided to explore Fargo Village as my good friend had recommended it to me. Unfortunately, we must have picked the ONLY day that it was very very quiet and not all of the shops were open. But we managed to look around a few quaint little shops - will definitely be going back in the future, perhaps when COVID-19 is a thing we reminisce about rather than actively avoid.



We then visited the Coventry Music Museum which was an experience! So much history crammed into a tiny first floor room, including half a car, solely placed for that picture perfect moment.



Just before we left for home, we walked around the new Cathedral and the Cathedral ruins. Such a beautiful place and you can feel the energy of history meeting the present between the two.


I also have to mention that I was so proud of my "One Night Away" bathroom essentials. This is probably the first time I have spent a night away and A) not gotten excited for the little soaps and things in the room and B) Actually had a full compliment of eco friendly toiletries in my bag!



I took an Ino Scents solid moisturiser that smells like peppermint which is not only great for moisturising after the chlorine from the pool, but tamed my chlorinated hair really well ready for my night out. I took extra Crocheted Scrubbies from A & R Cosies, and I had my 'Ku.tis deodorant, Eco Living toothtabs and reusable face wipes, all from Eco Coach House, a small business run by a very lovely lady called Sarah. (If you use my brand rep code, GROWUP10, you can get 10% on these and everything else across the site!) I absolutely had to take my UpCircle face moisturiser as well. They use food waste to create their products and are as plastic free with their packaging as possible. My safety razor was also a must as, having Spanish heritage, I choose to shave right before I could potentially show my underarms or I'll have a 5 o'clock shadow! I bought mine from another company called Parapura, for whom I am an ambassador and again, if you use my affiliate code, Steff10, you can 10% across their site as well. I took a beautiful soap from The Sustainable Way who have this great product called the "Wonky Soaps Box" where soaps that don't meet their standards are sold at a fraction of the price. I'm not sure why they don't meet their standards as they are absolutely perfect to me! Last, but by no means least, an ageing skin serum, hand crafted and send all the way from Dani in America who founded Live Like You Green It. This serum has absolutely saved my skin and made me feel so much more confident, especially with all the compliments I am getting about how glowing my skin is lately! I use four drops all over my face after cleansing and sleep with it on. By the morning, my skin is moisturised, smooth and feeling fresh.

35 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page