top of page
Search

Dining Area to Social Kitchen

So I really need to learn (read: remember) to take before pictures as without them, this area doesn't look that amazing. But trust me. It is.


Does anyone else arrange their house in the most logical way then live with it for two years HATING it but cannot possibly change it because its logical?


This area used to be the dining area. We used to have a table, next to the shoe rack, right by the back doors. The area is straight off the kitchen and has a utility room on the side. This meant noisy meals if I had a load of washing on, cold from the back doors and shoes EVERYWHERE. No wonder I hated it.


The kids (and dog!) would run riot through the kitchen under my feet whilst I was cooking as little darlings just cannot understand personal space when you're busy with fire and boiling water.


The paint at the back of the room had a coat of Stepping Stone from the Crown Breatheasy range. It says one coat is needed on the tin which was completely accurate as again, it was SO THICK going on. This was from one of the free tins I had from the Barn-Of-Wonders free paint event, and the quality was not affected!





I then painted the orange toned wooden shoe rack with Empire Blue eggshell (also Crown) and touched up the magnolia again from the billion litre of magnolia paint we have under the stairs. Then simply moved a sofa from one room, to this space.




That's it! So simple and so easy!


Total cost of "make-over" = nothing. Total value of makeover = everything. No more children or dogs trying to get me or themselves burnt, scolded, sliced by being under my feet!


Would love to hear about your simple fixed like this!



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page